New York Fashion Week Strikes Again

Last year I had quite a laugh at the expense of all things fashion week. If you haven’t read my fashion week commentary from last year (found here) feel free to give it a bit of a browse, but here is a bit of context. I think New York Fashion Week is awesome. I would love to design stuff to one day walk in NYFW. I also find it utterly preposterous from the sheer frivolity and utter lack of wearability of it. For a show all about clothing, they sure do showcase a lot of thing that don’t seem to be meant to be worn… So I thought that I would do a bit of a recap on some of the good, bad, and mostly ugly of New York Fashion Week.

(SIDE BAR: I made a vlog about this topic too and you should certainly go watch it and subscribe!)

Thom Browne: Now Thom Browne is known for his tailoring skills on clothing. I would love to be able to tailor things like him. But this is weird. It’s just weird. There are so many colors and so many layers and so many different pieces all on top of each other. But it all looks to be made perfectly… so that’s certainly a plus. It kind of looks like Alice in Wonderland kind of vomited. But it’s like a good vomit. So at least there is that consolation.

Screen Shot 2014-09-17 at 11.53.06 AM

Dirty Hippie: Fashion designer-extraordinaire Jeremy Scott and pop-diva Miley Cyrus paired up for the creation of this new accessory line. That is the “politically correct” sentence. Let me break that down into a bit of a more realistic description. Jeremy Scott is an amazing designer. For those who don’t know, he is the one who designed the Adidas shoes with the wings on it that every rapper and wanna-be rapper has worn. However Miley, in all her shock-marketing glory, released an accessories line that looks like someone attacked a dollar store with a hot glue gun. It’s made of lots of small beads, plastic tiaras, and stick on rhinestones. I don’t get it. That’s all I can really say. I don’t get it.

Screen Shot 2014-09-17 at 11.10.26 AM

Betsey Johnson: I admire the fact that Betsey Johnson epitomizes that whole “dance to the beat of your own drum”. I would argue that hers is not only a different drum, but it’s someone dancing to the sound of coffee percolating with wind chimes in the background. But her show was cool. And she did something that I’m surprised more haven’t done… she used reality stars in her show. There were a few Housewives in there, some Rupaul’s Drag Race queens, and her partner from Dancing with the Stars. If you’re already going to be ridiculous in every way possible, why not take it to another level and make it a reality-TV extravaganza?

Screen Shot 2014-09-17 at 11.50.19 AM

Hood by Air: I honestly have no idea who or what Hood by Air is. I happened upon this collection when browsing the Interwebs. However I will say… they are doing something weird over there at Hood by Air. A model walked down the runway on crutches. Now I don’t want that to be some sort of judgmental statement against those who are disabled. But was the guy actually disabled? Are crutches en vogue? Are the consequent bruises in your armpits en vogue as well? Also another model walked down with a dog… but the model was wearing what I can only describe as the “cone of shame” (cue the dog from Up). It was a lot. I wasn’t prepared.

Screen Shot 2014-09-17 at 11.48.11 AM

Kendall Jenner: Kendall isn’t a designer. That isn’t really that shocking of a statement. Everyone knows who she is. But apparently Kendall Jenner was the face of New York Fashion Week this year. She walked in like 3 or 4 different shows. I don’t necessarily know if I have an opinion regarding her fame contributing to her walking in shows. However I will say, I was quite impressed with the fact that she has actually spoken about that “rumor” (do we call it that). She recently identified her last name and prior successes as a hindrance. I don’t know how much I think having bazillions of dollars and being internationally recognizable as a hindrance, but at least she realizes where she stand. Good for her.

Screen Shot 2014-09-17 at 11.52.05 AM

Let me know what your thoughts on New York Fashion Week are. And make sure to comment, share, and subscribe for more musings.

…gm

