Will the 20s Roar Again?

I would like to start this by saying that I’m drinking an ice cold gin rickey or sitting in a smokey jazz club. I’m not. I’m sitting in bed. In fact it is 10:30 on a Thursday evening. I have spent the better part of the past 10 minutes looking through my photos to see if there is something quirky and interesting to post as a “throwback”. I’m drinking a Diet Dr. Pepper (because I apparently love putting terrible chemicals in my body). And I am learning how to use this new power brick thing I got that you can charge and it acts as a power source for your gadgets while you’re on the go. Needless to say… my mind is blown. I recently got called in for an audition that, if I book it, will have me employed on the road until well into 2015. That’s right folks… 2015. Because it’s July here and we are more than half way done with 2014. That thought alone is terrifying. So now that I have written this lengthy introduction for no real reason, let me jump into the topic of this post.

The 1920s. Just saying that much makes you think of certain imagery. Maybe it is smokey bars with pin stripe suits. Maybe it is the stock market crash. Maybe you didn’t pay attention during you high school history classes and the only context you have for the 20s is Baz Luhrmann’s “The Great Gatsby”. If you fall into that last category, maybe you should head over to wikipedia and give the 1920s page a quick read before continuing. Now my early paragraph… remember that one that seemed incoherent… raises an interesting point. We are well on our way to the year 2020. If you are clever, you have put two and two together. But if you haven’t let me hold your hand (not in a weird way or a stranger danger way) and guide you along.

Modern 1920's

The other day I was on Facebook. That statement on its own… not so alarming. However I saw someone post an article (which if I were a good blogger I would hunt down and post here… but I probably won’t, to be honest) that brought up the question: what would happen if the year 2020 brought out a “1920s resurgence”? What if suddenly people wore white dinner jackets and had finger waves in their hair? Now this person, who if I can say this, didn’t have the most profound and well thought out ideas on the matter. They declared this would be “awesome” and “it is about time that the 20s came back around”. Now I decided to pursue this further. I opened a Facebook message with this person. They are not someone I would normally Facebook chat with, but desperate times called for desperate measures. She proceeded to tell me that she thought “just bringing back that environment and way of life would be awesome”.

And here we are. We’ve made it to our point. Do people truly believe that a revival or resurgence of a fashion trend or a musical trend or whatever means that we as society are reflecting that culture? I mean, are all of the super hipster kids who may or may not be bathing and are wearing macrame tops truly trying to emulate the thoughts and ideas of the 60s and 70s? Or did they watch “Almost Famous” one too many times and have a false sense of what a time period was like. If you haven’t guessed by now, I think the latter is more plausible. Sure, I would love to go to a jazz club. In fact, I have gone to a jazz club. And sure, I would love to wear an awesome pinstripe suit with a cool hat. (I was going to follow that up with another “in fact”… but I have no pertinent facts.) Maybe we should be cool with borrowing thoughts from the past as we move forward. We don’t need the 20s again. Or the 30s or 40s or 50s. And be glad that we don’t have them again… because is so 2029 would be a pretty crappy year for all of us.

Make sure to subscribe for more musings and check out my YouTube channel as well. Talk to you all next time!

…gm

