Covered for Christmas

So recently I posted another blog about song covers that I was loving. In posting that, I realized that there is a whole genre I have neglected… the Christmas classics. So I decided that, rather than posting something heavy during the holiday season, I would post my favorite holiday covers. I hope these brighten up your Christmas cookie baking, or your present wrapping, or your last minute runs to Wal-Mart because you realized that your nephew’s girlfriend is coming to Christmas and you will never hear the end of it if you don’t bring her something. Enjoy.

1. Kyle Dean Massey and Taylor Frey. “Angels We Have Heard on High”

This arrangement is really pretty. These two guys have pretty voices. Everything about it is pretty. And they arranged this song for a fundraiser for St. Jude’s. Could there be anything more wonderfully Christmas-y than this?

 

2. Pentatonix. “The Little Drummer Boy”

So anyone who knows me, knows I have a mild infatuation with the Pentatonix. Here is there arrangement of The Little Drummer Boy. Pretty much everything about it is perfect. Also they have a Christmas album out… so you should go get that.

 

3. Natalie Royal. “River”

Natalie would probably kill me if she saw I posted this since it is a video from 3 years ago. But it is one of my favorite non-traditional Christmas-y songs. Also she sounds amazing on this song and I might even like it better than the original (which is saying something if you can surpass Sarah McLachlan). 

 

4. She & Him. “I’ll Be Home for Christmas”

It isn’t a good Christmas playlist if there isn’t something from She & Him’s album. I just love how happy and bouncy and light this version is, in comparison to arrangements like Josh Groban’s with all the letters to soldiers (which has made me cry on more than one occasion).

 

5. Priscilla Ahn. “Silent Night”

The Hotel Cafe “Winter Songs” album is perhaps one of my favorite Christmas albums out there. It is full of weird songs that people don’t know, that aren’t tradition Christmas tunes. But it just has a great winter-y vibe. That being said, this arrangement of “Silent Night” (which pretty much everyone has covered) is absolutely ridiculously good. It is original but still fits with the classic song. And Priscilla Ahn’s voice is just unreal.

 

6. Annie Lennox. “God Rest Ye Merry Gentleman”

This song is perfect. This album is perfect. Annie Lennox is perfect and you should listen to her weird Enya meets The Eurythmics album on repeat. Her cover of “The Holly and the Ivy” is great, as is her arrangement of “Coventry Carol”.

 

7. Bastille. “O, Holy Night”

On their most recent album Bastille has done some awesome work of blending the audio from classic films in with new arrangements of songs. I have mentioned their cover of TLC’s “No Scrubs” using samples from Psycho. This version of Oh Holy Night is amazing… and it uses dialogue from Home Alone. How can you go wrong with that?

 

8. Tracy Chapman. “O, Holy Night”

Even though I just did Bastille’s cover, I couldn’t make a list of my must-listen-to Christmas tracks without this cover. Tracy Chapman is just the chillest voice out there. It’s like a glass of warm milk or something like that. She’s amazing and I adore this cover of this song.

 

I hope these made your holidays a bit brighter… or at least a bit more musical.

Subscribe for more musings and for festive cheer.

…gm

