Am I Using the YouTubes Right?

Anyone that knows me in a somewhat decent capacity knows that I love YouTube videos. I think this stems from the fact that I am a lover of background noise, so in college I would just play YouTube videos in the background because it was easy and filled the air with random sounds. However I have since become a bit more interested in the actual content and have people I watch with a decent amount of regularity. But there is one thing that I continue to find absolutely fascinating. For those who don’t know, many of the “big name YouTubers” actually make their primary income from content creation on their channels. I still don’t fully understand how this works, but that’s beside the point. The important thing is they make money from recording their daily life or making comedy sketches or whatever other content they decide to create. But people have seemed to forget that for us, as consumers, this is free. I was watching a video by Daily Grace (who is hysterical) recently and I happened to peruse the comments. Now YouTube comments are inherently HYSTERICAL. If ever you want a good giggle, read the intensity of some of the comments. However the thing that I find so funny is how upset people had gotten with this Daily Grace video. They were talking about how terrible the video was, how much they didn’t like the content, and how much she is losing touch with her audience.

The thing I couldn’t get over was the fact that THIS IS FREE. You aren’t paying to watch them. You honestly have probably never met 99% of the content creators out there. Yet somehow people feel it acceptable to give all of this critique and to be truly upset about the content they make. While I am a total proponent of making content accessible to the general public and I love the idea of any human being on Earth being able to collaborate on stuff, there is a big problem I see emerging in the world of Internet creativity. Because there is so much material out there that you can access so easily, people feel like they can become a mixture of Martin Scorsese and Roger Ebert all the time.

That cartoon that hatched the YouTube comment checker.

Here is my plea as someone who is in some way contributing to the creative cornucopia on the Interwebs: While I realize I am opening myself up to critique (and if you are a content creator and think you are above criticism… you’re wrong), try and realize who you are dealing with. If I’m watching a Broadway production I am going to be more harsh than I am watching a 4th grade Christmas pageant. In the same way, people need to realize that if you’re watching someone’s Daily Vlog or free YouTube channel you really can’t be too picky. And if you have read this and feel like I have ranted or overstepped my boundaries, please click either here or here.

Subscribe for more commentary on my life and times, or your life and times, or just random musings that make you smile.

…gm

