In Case You Wanted To Know: An iPad Musing

I have always been enamored with random pieces of trivia. I don’t know why. There is nothing in my childhood that seems to point to why I would find it useful to know all of these things. My family didn’t watch Jeopardy together. I didn’t ever do the Quiz Bowl in school. I just chalk this one up to being a little bit weird. But all of that being said, last night I had a gigantic case of insomnia and just started Googling (sidebar: did you know that Google has issued a few corporate statements trying to get people to stop using the word Google as a verb but instead say that you are Google searching?). So here are a few fun facts for your Tuesday. I hope they make you smile… or at least give you something interesting to share with the guy in the cubicle next to you or over drinks this weekend.

original.0

In 1964 three people who thought they were all Jesus Christ were all forced to live together. There has never, ever been a more appropriate time to say that I wish I were a fly on the wall of that crazy, crazy house. 

Doritos originated in Disneyland as a result of excess tortillas. This just proves that Disney is brilliant at all things all the time. (Also these two videos, here and here, will make you appreciate Doritos so much more.)

In some cases, if agreed upon by both parties, the game rock-paper-scissors is a legal method to settle a dispute in court. But the bigger question is, ‘Do you show on scissors or on shoot?”

Puppies can’t see rainbows. So basically this just proves that through all of the beginning of The Wizard of Oz, Toto was like ‘What are you singing about you crazy girl’.

Between 1912 to 1948, art competitions were a part of the Olympics. Medals were awarded for architecture, painting, music, and sculpture. In other news my chances of winning an Olympic medal ended in 1948.

Young sloths have been known to fall to their death after mistaking their own arms for tree branches. While this is really tragic, I could not help but laugh hysterically at this. That probably makes me a horrible person, but the idea of not recognizing your own arm is just funny.

Starbucks uses round tables to make solo drinkers feel less alone. This theory doesn’t really work for me because I bring enough stuff to Starbucks to fill an entire table. There isn’t room for another person anyway. 

The Pokemon Koffing and Weezing were originally named NY and LA. Just another prime example of how wonderful the rest of the world’s perception of us is. 

Most turtles can’t reproduce until they are about 25 years old. Dear all people who have been on 16 and Pregnant, be like a sea turtle.

On average you will spend about a year of your life looking for misplaced objects. If you’re like me, you will spend more like 2 or 3 years. Or you can fast track that whole process and realize you always end up leaving your keys in the fridge somehow. 

Under extremely high pressure peanut butter can be turned into diamonds. Here’s my question: Can’t all things be squished into a diamond? Doesn’t it just have to be something that is carbon-based or has Big Bang Theory lied to me?

Today you beat your own personal record for longest time living without dying. So smile, dang it! Plus don’t feel guilty about buying that cookie from the coffee shop on your way home from work today.

Subscribe and check back in for more random facts and more musings.

…gm

