Doomsday Clock of Your Life

So as I stated a few days ago, I just moved to New York City… and by moved I mean I am crashing on a friend’s couch while I look for a day job and a place of my own to move into. As you can assume, this is a period of a lot of uncertainty, change, and stress. Unlike Julie Andrews, these are not my favorite things. Also, because I’m suck a weird human being, I have been playing Wikipedia Roulette (which is most likely something I will write a post about soon), I have been reading about some weird topics. Today’s topic is the Doomsday Clock. Now for those of you who have not read about this topic or for those who aren’t 60 or older, the Doomsday Clock is a symbolic clock face representing the terrifying countdown to nuclear warfare.  At midnight everything is going to go boom, so the later the time, the closer we are to the world going bye bye. This metaphor relies on the idea of the world being constantly in a state of conflict and decay. But here is the part that sucks… the metaphor only exists if you accept the idea that eventually everything will completely fall apart and need to be blown up.

Bulletin_Atomic_Scientists_Cover

So here is where I get deep. As I am dealing with all of the stress and weirdness of these changes in my life I realized this dilemma (which I will pose in the form of a question, Carrie Bradshaw style): Why do we feel the need to put a Doomsday Clock on everything in our lives? Is assuming the inevitability of nuclear destruction really beneficial to life? I have encountered far too many people over the past few months (post-graduation) that live their life with this mentality. They make it seem like in the end it all IS going to suck. Their life is going to explode in a mushroom cloud so the idea of being positive is a moot point. But here is the thing about the Doomsday Clock. It is perpetually fluctuating. In 1991 it was at 11:43. In 1953 it was at 11:58. Now it is currently at 11:55. So all I’m saying is, why not try and move that clock backwards. Why not assume that in the next week everything is going to be terrible and instead allow yourself to live and work at your own pace. You know what? Why not just eliminate that whole metaphor for your life? I will allow the Department of Defense to watch that one closely. In A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man Dedalus has to translate the expression Tempora mutantur, nos et mutamur in illis. It means “the times are changed and we too are changed in them”. It’s a much more healthy adage to live my life by.

Because this has been such a serious blog post I have decided to include the following picture. Enjoy.

rexfeatures_1945047b

Make sure to subscribe to my blog for more serious musings… but honestly mostly more musings about Starbucks.

