NYCB is Doing it Right

new-york-city-ballet-hed-2013

As I’ve posted a bunch on here, I was in NYC last week for 10 days. While I was planning my trip I knew that I was leaving on the 4th and returning on the 15th. The funny thing is that amidst all my planning it completely slipped my mind that I was going to be in NYC on September 11th. It wasn’t until around the 9th that I realized, ‘Oh yeah… that happened here.” While I could write a lot about my reflections on being in NYC while there, I am not nearly eloquent enough to do so. Instead I am going to post this video. Posted by New York City Ballet on the morning of the 12th, this pas de deux is beautifully danced by Maria Kowroski and Ask la Cour. In college I had to read “The Artist’s Way” by Julia Cameron. I hated it. There was something about micro-analyzing creativity that I hated entirely. However I stumbled across a quote by her that is epitomized in this piece: “Art opens the closet, airs out the cellars and attics. It brings healing.” Enjoy.

If you would like to watch the entire piece (which is quite possibly Christopher Wheeldon’s most beautiful piece ever) here is “After the Rain” danced Yuan Yuan Tan and Damian Smith at the Fire Island Dance Festival. Warning: You may cry.

…gm

