iDon’t Have an iPhone

Today that new iPhone operating platform was released. I will hold for your thunderous applause. Now, my knowledge of the iPhone is quite limited and my understanding of the “groundbreaking” tech that was released today can be summed up in a few screenshots. I don’t really understand what the big deal is. I was reading some article the other day about the newly released iPhone 5s and 5c. The reviewer called it a “groundbreaking and industry-shattering piece of technology”. When you read something like that you hope to look below the title and see that it is from The Onion. This was not. From my understanding the new iPhones have different colored backgrounds, a fingerprint scanner, and a fancier screen. Is that what we are calling “industry-shattering” these days? If that’s the case I have this really cool idea. I think if you could make my MacBook a slightly darker shade of silver, it could totally change how I operate my computer.

I guess this is a roundabout way of saying I don’t understand the constant need to change tech at the drop of a hat. I remember years and years ago (like pre-iPhone days, if you can even think that far back) there was a comic in the paper that showed a man checking out at a Best Buy. By the time he had checked out a new computer was being released in the store. While it is funny to think about, it really is quite true. I actually saw someone post on Facebook the other day that “I just got my iPhone 5 but the blue one is so cute, I guess I’m going to have to get another”. It is sentences like this that make me so sad. Don’t get me wrong, my Android phone takes a few seconds to check my email or to open the on-screen keyboard. But I don’t need to get another one of those instantly when a new one comes out. I guess this post is a little bit rant-y… but I just find it so funny when people talk about how they don’t have money for necessary things when they are buying a brand new iPhone at the drop of a hat. In order to make this more light-hearted and less stern in tone, please enjoy the cartoon below by Ben Pirero.

iphone5hype

…gm

