1950’s Timberlake

Have you ever had one of those “Six Degrees of Separation” moments while listening to music. An instance where you go in looking for a specific song and somehow click your way through to a completely different artist, genre, or decade. Well I have been a massive fan of Justin Timberlake’s newest album “The 20/20 Experience”. I would insert a comment here on how you should go listen to it if you haven’t yet, but who hasn’t listened to it yet? I guess if you’ve been banished to Siberia or something like that then you missed it… so go listen to it. I wanted to listen to a bit of old-school JT so I typed in “Cry Me a River”. It was one of those epic songs from my youth that I imagined I would listen to loudly when I was deeply heartbroken. The only problem with that scenario was it came out when I was in 6th grade and I hadn’t dated anyone, none the less been anywhere near heartbroken. While my search did yield Justin Timberlake and his oh-so-hearth-wrenching  lyrics, it more importantly brought up another song.

“Cry Me a River” by Julie London is noted as one of the most popular songs from the 1950s and I highly suggest everyone listen to it. If Timberlake’s song was a song for middle school heartbreak, London’s song is what real people feel when they go through heartbreak. It’s one of those songs that you hear and you instantly wish that you had written because it is so deeply profound. This discovery has led me to spend a lot of time in the Billboard charts from the 50s. This is definitely a good use of your free time. There is some great music out there beyond the 15 songs played on the Top 40s stations. If you need me I will be eating Ben & Jerry’s while crying to Julie London. It’s just so dang pretty.

…gm

