Summer Music and Fake Food?

So I guess this post kind of touches on two seemingly unrelated but equally interesting topics, so here we go. Bastille’s song “Pompeii” has more or less been my jam for the summer. It’s got that weird, “world music” vibe that drew me to Enya when I was in 5th grade but sounds like a pop song and less like something that would be played in the United Airlines lounge in the airport.

And can we just pause for a minute and discuss the idea of “world music”. Why is it that in the late 90’s and early 2000’s people thought that world music would be a thing? I mean, yes, there are some interesting ideas that came from it and I understand the deeper message of unity and whatever that comes with it. But why would music producers think that a choir chanting in a fictitious language somewhere between Gaelic and Eskimo would sell lots of records? I mean, I think Cirque du Soleil has staked claim to the fictitious languages shtick. But I digress….

     So all of that being said, everyone should listen to “Pompeii” and have it in their iTunes library. Well being the studious and inquisitive person I am, I wondered who the writers of this song were. So upon a Google search of Pompeii the first story to come up was about a loaf of bread found at the site of the former city of Pompeii (and now all of the lightbulbs have clicked as to why I say this is about 2 random topics). Naturally if you were to see a headline about an almost 2,000 year old loaf of bread you would read the article, right? No? Just me…? Ok. Well the bread (pictured above) has a stamp on it to indicate it was authentic bread and to keep bread fraud from occurring. Yes… bread fraud. I don’t know if I want to live in a world where bread fraud occurred. And more importantly, what was fraudulently being passed off as bread? I mean I ate my fair share of glue and sand and what not as a small child, but I’m pretty sure if you were to hand me a loaf of warm bread and a loaf made of some mud-based concoction I would be able to tell a difference. There is no real point to me saying all of this. I guess this could be a warning to read your expiration labels on food? However if you are about to bite down on a frozen pizza and you realize it has twigs on it you might want to see if it is fraudulent food.

…gm

